What Are The Longest MLB Postseason Losing Streaks?

2020-03-16 23:15:00 EDT

While some MLB teams seem to nail it when they get to the Post-season, others just seem to come up short in bunches. Get Free MLB Picks and MLB Predictions all season long for every game at Sports Chat Place

Here are the Longest Losing Streaks in MLB Post-Season History:

16 games – Minnesota Twins (2004, 2006, 2009-2010, 2017, 2019) – In 2004 the Twins lost a heartbreaking 12 inning game to the New York Yankees and to this day haven’t won a post season game since.

Who did our Top Experts Pick?
(click here to find out!)

13 games – Boston Red Sox (1986, 1988, 1990, 1995) – Game 6 of the 1986 World Series wasn’t just one of the most infamous games in Boston Red Sox history, it was also the game started the Sox into a tailspin in the post season that would last nearly a decade.

Sportsbook Bonus Offer: $2000 In RISK FREE Bets

10 Games – Milwaukee/Atlanta Braves (1958, 1969, 1982, 1991) – This losing steak spanned three decades and two cities but the Braves just didn’t give themselves a lot of chances to end it. The Braves eventually built a pitching staff that would lead them to many post season appearances and wins.

10 Games – Kansas City Royals (1980-81, 1984-85) – The Royals knocked of nth eBlue Jays in the ALCS and went on to get crushed in the World Series by the Phillies. Ironically the it was the Blue Jays once again who ended the Royals losing in the 1985 ALCS.

10 Games – Texas Rangers (1996, 1998-99) The Rangers lost in 12 innings to the Yankees in 1996 and didn’t get a post season win until they beat the Rays in 2010. This is another one of these losing streaks where the team, in this case the Rangers, didn’t give themselves a lot of opportunities to fit it.

9 Games – San Diego Padres (1998, 2005-06) The Padres and the post season aren’t words we hear together too often. The Padres took one on the chin getting swept by the Yankees in the 1998 World Series and didn’t win again in the post season until 8 years later when they beat the Cardinals.

9 Games – Chicago Cubs (2003, 2007-08) – The infamous Bartman game wasn’t the start of the streak but it was part of it as the Marlins also exposed the Cubs in game 7 of that series that the Cubs still had everything going int heir favor. There were many other failures along the way for the Cubbies but 12 years after Bartman it was a win over the Pirates that ended the streak.

9 Games – Los Angeles Angles (2005, 2007-08) – The Angels were one of the many victims to the eventual World Series champion White Sox in 2005 and it took 12 inning and 3 years to get their next win beating the Red Sox in 2008.

8 Games – Los Angeles Dodgers (1995-96, 2004) – When we think of the Dodgers organization we think of them as a team that goes to the post season every year, but there was a drought in int he late 90’s and early 2000’s. The Dodgers stopped the bleeding with a win over the Reds in the NLDS in 2004. 

Carolyn Shelby's Free Pick:
Bet $20 Win $100 on Any Event

Related Articles

Back to top button